Members First

 Phone: +27 (0) 830 123 543

Friday , December , 02 2022
Subscribe to our News

NUM News

Congratulatory message to the newly elected NUM leadership

posted on
Congratulatory message to the newly elected NUM leadership

Press Statement, 03 April 2022

Congratulatory message to the newly elected NUM leadership

The National Union of Mineworkers (NUM) delegates at the 17th National Congress held in Boksburg held from 30 March - 01 April 2022 concluded the congress by democratically electing national leadership that they believed its capable of pushing forward the adopted congress theme that says "Back to basics is when we defend and advance to built a radical Movement".

About 750 voting and non voting delegates participated in the three-day congress with a number of NUM former leaders closely guiding, assisting and making inputs where it was necessary.

The NUM' founding General Secretary and the sitting African National Congress President Cyril Ramaphosa addressed delegates on the congress' first day and urged the NUM membership to closely and jealously guard the gains and the successes of this mighty, giant trade union, the NUM.

He reminded the leadership that the NUM attained its stature because of its "progressive programmes" to empower workers and the trade union was held in high regard today because of "its commitment to making the voice of workers heard in policy making in relation with business, in society and in the project of transforming the country's economy.

NUM's former General Secretary who is now the Minister of Mineral Resources and Energy Gwede Mantashe encouraged members of the Union to always stand on their feet by making input to all policies that seek to benefit them. He insisted that there should be no decision taken either in mining, construction, energy and metal sectors without members' inputs.

Then delegates concluded the robust congress by democratically electing the following national leadership:

President - Daniel Balepile
Deputy President - Phillip Vilakazi,
General Secretary - William Mabapa
Deputy General Secretary - Mpho Phakedi
Treasurer General - Helen Diatile,
Education Chairperson - Olehile Kgware
Education Secretary - Lefty Mashego
Health and Safety Chairperson - Duncan Luvuno
Health and Safety Secretary - Masibulele Naki

Congratulations to the newly elected NUM leadership. All the best in your responsibilities!

For more detailed information, please contact:

William Mabapa, NUM General Secretary, 082 880 4439
Livhuwani Mammburu, NUM National Spokesperson, 083 809 3257
Luphert Chilwane, NUM Media Officer, 083 809 3255

The National Union of Mineworkers
7 Rissik Street.
Cnr Frederick Johannesburg
Tel: 011 377 2111 Cell: 083 809 3257
Twitter: @Num_Media



Categories: | Tags: | Comments: (0) | View Count: (1246) | Return

Post a Comment

how to