About Us
The National Union of Mineworkers was founded in 1982.

Its birth was facilitated by comrades Cyril Ramaphosa who rose to be its first General Secretary, James Motlatsi who turned to be its first President, and Elijah Barayi who became its Vice President and later the President of Cosatu in 1985 when the federation was formed. porn

NUM logo


Members first

Members First

 Phone: +27 (0) 11 377 2198/9
 Email: tphoko@num.org.za
 Website: www.num.org.za

 Phone: +27 (0) 830 123 543
 Email: info@num.org.za
 Website: www.num.org.za

Subscribe to our News

NUM News

Mineworker dies at Sibanye Stillwater's Khomanane Shaft

posted on
Mineworker dies at Sibanye Stillwater's Khomanane Shaft

Press statement, 26 June 2018


Mineworker dies at Sibanye Stillwater's Khomanane Shaft

The National Union of Mineworkers (NUM) has learned with shock the death of a mineworker at Sibanye Stillwater Khomanane shaft last night. It is not known what is the cause of the incident as the investigation is underway.

"This brings to 21 the number of miners who have died at Sibanye Stillwater this year. One death is one death too many. This is unacceptable as we don't sell our lives, limbs or lungs to the industry but our labour to provide for our families," said Duncan Luvuno, NUM Health and Safety Chairperson.

The NUM sends its condolences to the families of the deceased and calls on the mining industry to act in the interests of its workforce and stop living in a dream world of safety when workers die like locusts.

For more information, Please contact

Duncan Luvuno: NUM Health and Safety Chairperson: 082 335 2250
Livhuwani Mammburu: NUM National Spokesperson: 083 809 3257

The National Union of Mineworkers

7 Rissik Street.

Cnr Frederick


Tel: 011 377 2111

Cell: 083 809 3257

Web: www.num.org.za<http://www.num.org.za>

Twitter: @Num_Media
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/NUM/100860023402167

Categories: | Tags: | Comments: (0) | View Count: (2587) | Return

Post a Comment